Let’s get naked!

WARNING: this article contains nudity!!!

Yeah, let’s get naked! No, I am no pervert. No, I am not trying it on with you.

I am not talking about sex either. I am talking about nudity … remember the way we were brought into this world? Oh, I’m sorry … I didn’t mean to embarrass you.

For some reason, many associate nudity with sex. Is it because we are exposing our reproductive organs or body parts that cause us sexual pleasure? It is very intriguing how for some the mind associates nudity with embarrassment, shamefulness and sex.

I have to admit I used to feel the same.

But I don’t think I was born feeling that way. Through my very conservative and religious upbringing I was made to feel that way.

I recall a quite upsetting experience when I was a kid that engraved into my brain that nudity was very wrong. I was probably 9 years old … and I walked into the bathroom and saw my mum completely naked whilst she was having a bath. She was extremely upset about the incident, gave me a good slap in the face and told me off big time. You can imagine how awful and embarrassing this whole situation was for a little boy!

On another occasion, I found a book at home that contained images about the female anatomy. As a child, I was very intrigued and found it fascinating. But that fascination soon ended when I was caught. I was forced by my parents to describe exactly what I had seen in the book. Once again I was made to feel embarrassed and ashamed … and I got punished. No surprise their son turned out gay! I bet my parents now wished I had seen more breasts and pussies. I don’t harbor any resentment about those experiences as I am sure my parents tried to teach me those moral values that had been passed on to them for generations… however it did influence me when I grew up.

The truth is … my curiosity as a child about the naked body had nothing to do with sex. I hadn’t developed that part of me yet.

As I grew older, wiser and wilder I asked myself “why the hell do I need to feel embarrassed or ashamed about showing certain parts of my body that are called ‘private’ but it’s totally fine to show other parts that are acceptable. Who made up that stupid rule? Is it a society that has been influenced by culture or religion?” Don’t get me wrong, I am fascinated by traditions and cultures … as long as they don’t interfere with people’s free will to be who they want to be.

One day when I was in my late twenties, by complete coincidence I ended up in a nudist beach in the South of Tenerife when I went for a hike. It was a gorgeous wild beach full of naked people.

It felt awkward not to be naked and I felt out of place. I was a very religious young man back in those days (I used to be a Jehovah’s Witness), but I decided to rebel and put my Adam’s suit on. At first I was extremely nervous. My heart started to beat faster than normal. But after a short while I started to enjoy my freedom. It was absolutely liberating! I was Adam in the beautiful paradise of Eden the bible talks about. What was wrong with that? I swam with tropical fish and had an amazing day with my life time companion that was forced into the dark for way too long and had never seen day light … Mr. Willy. It felt so normal, so good.

101

One of my first visits to a nudist beach (Pescara, Italy)

After that experience I have seized many opportunities to be naked … but it was usually around people I didn’t know. Until one day a good friend of fine asked me to go to a Spa in Holland. It had the most amazing saunas and whirlpools. You were only allowed naked in the saunas (with a towel to sit on). I had never seen my friend naked … but the awkwardness only lasted for 5 minutes as we enjoyed an unforgettable, pampering evening. In all fairness, we both had a penis hanging … so what’s the big deal?

When I talk to certain friends about going to a clothing optional place, I see their eyebrows frown before they decline the invite. Or sometimes they say “I don’t mind if you are naked, but I will keep my clothes on”. Unfortunately, that’s not how it works. If you feel embarrassed or ashamed about being naked that energy is transmitted to us nudists.

I get it when people feel a lack of confidence about their body … a few extra kilos here, a smaller dick there, a body we don’t embrace. I used to have serious issues about my body too as I am quite hairy and don’t have that six pack that all guys seem to have when you open a Men’s Health magazine.

But us nudist don’t care about that. We don’t judge people for their appearance as we don’t want to be judged in return. We just enjoy the freedom of being nude!

My fiancé used to be one of those shy guys … but last Summer a couple of good friends in LA took us to a clothing optional gay resort in Palm Springs … and we spend 3 days walking, swimming and eating naked. It was an amazing experience … one I would like to repeat soon. And yes, we made love under the stars on one occasion … just because it felt right. And again, it felt so liberating!

P1090656

Escape Resort in Palm Springs (www.escapepalmspring.com)

In all honesty, I like watching naked bodies. You might think it is a perversion … or you might call me a voyeur. But I must disagree with that. When you go to a museum you can admire the beauty of a naked body on canvas, or a sensual body on a picture. It’s art. So why is it different when you see it right in front of you? I’m sure everybody is in one way or another curious about nudity whether you want to admit it or not. Our first natural reaction when we spot a naked body is to look , then look away out of embarrassment, and then perhaps look secretly back without it being too obvious to satisfy your curiosity.

I absolutely think it is hilarious how we have started to use “full frontal nudity” as a warning. I honestly think we need to stop for a moment and ask ourselves: why is a penis or a vagina worse than glutes? Who decided that?

There are certain tribes far from human “civilization” that wander around naked without any issues. Why has the so called Western world gone to the other extreme of hiding themselves behind clothes as if there was something very abnormal that had to be kept covered? I really wonder whether the Western world can claim to be “civil” as it seems they are distancing themselves more and more from their natural desires.

P1040123

Nudist beach in Riserva di Capo Gallo (Sicily)

This article started with a warning saying “article contains nudity” … and your curiosity impelled you to read this blog post. And you know what? There is absolutely nothing to feel ashamed or embarrassed about. Embrace that curiosity, explore it and be free. I am very proud of you … and so should you.

P1040137

Nudist beach in Riserva di Capo Gallo (Sicily)

The intention of this this blog post isn’t to convert you into a naturist (or whatever you want to call it), but I would recommend everybody trying to be naked outdoors at least once in his or her life. See how it goes. If you feel uncomfortable, ask yourself why? Is it because of your upbringing, your culture, your religion or because you really love having clothes on at all times? In the end of the day, remember we all have either a dick or a pussy. And they come in all shapes and sizes. Embrace yours. I am sure it’s not as bad as you think it is.

Written by: Samuel Rodriguez

Leave a Reply

